Europe 2014 · holidays · Vacation

Fresh off the plane. The longest day ever.

Monday August 11, 2014

After not much sleep on the plane, I got up at 1 a.m my time to a light breakfast of yogurt, muffin and OJ.  I wasn’t very hungry.  It was 6:30 in the morning when we landed in England. We went through customs and went to get our luggage. My family all had theirs already. My bag was the last bag to come out of baggage claim. I was worried it got lost!

Then we went on a bus to get our rental car, that was so small it was laughable. But for England, it’s a big car. There are seven seats that fit the seven of us perfectly. However, there is only one foot behind the back seat.  When we got in the car, all of our luggage had to be piled on our laps.

It took us a long time to get to our house because we kept getting lost, and our house is in a small neighborhood on the Thames River. Plus, my Dad was just getting used to driving on the other side of the road.

My favorite room in the house is the glass sunporch. It seems there are a lot of homes with these glass sunrooms.

Our plan was to stay up all day, but we all fell asleep for 3 hours in the middle of the day. We all felt pretty good after that.

I was still so tired when we woke up from our nap that we decided to take a walk for some fresh air. We drove by Windsor Castle and walked the grounds of Eton College. Eton College is like a high school where many well to do boys go. They wear suits and top hats to school!

It is so different here – the electric outlets, the cars, the buildings – its all different.  The cars are all smaller than our cars. There aren’t any big SUVs or pickup trucks here.

I was so happy to fall asleep in my comfy bed that night. It was probably the longest day of my life – but well worth it!

Leave a Reply

