Vacation

Grand Canyon and Sedona

photo 2-22
The beautiful Grand Canyon.
photo 1-19
Sedona sandstone

This past week I visited my grandparents who live in Arizona. While we were there my family and I went to the Grand Canyon in northern Arizona. When we first got there we could only see 50 feet in front of us but we waited 15 minutes and it was all clear. So if you ever go there and it isn’t good weather then wait a few minutes and it will get better!photo 3-14

At the Grand Canyon there is a junior ranger program like many other state parks. You get a booklet and depending on your age you fill out different pages. When you finish these pages you go to a real ranger and he/she will check the workbook and give you a badge, pin or patch depending on the state park. I did the program and got a badge. I am collecting a badge from the junior ranger program and I purchase a patch from every state park I go. I also get a stamp on my state park “passport.” It’s a great way to keep track of every place you go.

After the Grand Canyon we went to the town of Sedona to walk around. Sedona’s main attraction is her red sandstone formations. But in the heart of Sedona are many shops and restaurants. We didn’t spend as much time as I would have liked to but if I would go again I would go on the pink jeep tours.(You could also do that at the Grand Canyon.)

 

Leave a Reply

