Spring Break · Washington DC

Capitol Building Take Two

IMG_0071I had never noticed how much D.C looks like England before this trip. All of the buildings are so fancy they could fit right in. One of my favorite buildings here is the Capitol building and while I have been here I have gone 5 times! The first time was with my Girl Scout Troops. On Monday I got to take a tour of the Capitol with a tour guide. Helpful hint: go early and beat the crowds. We got there at 10:30. You can also ask your congress person for a private tour. We scheduled a private tour but unfortunately, there were no pages that day. Instead, our congress woman’s intern walked us through a tour of the tunnel and dropped us off for the main tour. On the tour, we saw a short video, went to the crypt, rotunda and the old house chamber. That was all fun and things but I didn’t know what would happen next. Also, visit the museum even if it is only for 5 minutes!

Look at the Rotunda!IMG_4843IMG_4845IMG_4846IMG_4838IMG_4852IMG_4850This is in the inside of the old senate chamber.IMG_4848IMG_4856IMG_4853The model of the rotunda in the museum shows how ornate everything is.

IMG_0057The previous day we were admiring the outside of the building and inquiring about the Ulysses S. Grant Statue. A man, standing nearby, was quick to answer any of our questions. He knew everything from setting up for the inauguration, to inside the white house, to a neighborhood restaurant three blocks down. We got into a whole conversation about how he works for the house and he even showed us pictures of the inauguration. He was probably 5 rows from Trump and had pictures of the Obamas and the Clintons. I won’t say his name because I don’t know if he would want me to, but he is a house of representatives staffer. He is such a nice man and he wanted to take us on a behind the scenes tour of the Capitol.

Now fast forward to the present. After our tour with all of the tour groups, he took us to restricted access halls and places where the public can’t go. We were many levels underground in secret tunnels. I wasn’t supposed to take pictures because of different reasons but it was so cool. I got to walk down the halls where all of the presidents go to and from their inaugurations. And look out onto the big stretch of land that divides the Capitol and the Washington Monument and pretend I was a president giving my inauguration speech. Also, do you know where all of the “State of the Union” speeches are? That is the house chamber and I got to get on the floor of it! Talk about 2 once and a lifetime opportunities! Our friend also took us to the President’s private meeting room. I had so much fun! We also got to see the old supreme court chamber and the cornerstone that George Washington laid when they were building the capitol. Also, the British stormed the Capitol building and burned it down. We got to walk up the stair that the British took to burn the rotunda!

Old Supreme Court Chamber

IMG_0058IMG_4864   IMG_4880Old Senate RoomIMG_4876IMG_4877George Washington’s cornerstone!IMG_4869IMG_4871

IMG_4887IMG_4890Hope you enjoyed this post! More DC posts coming soon! Catch up on my other posts in DC.

A day in Charlottesville, Virginia

Exploring Monticello

Best Food Ever

14 thoughts on “Capitol Building Take Two

  1. Such good pictures! I’ve been to DC once a while back and we went into the Capitol building but we didn’t get such an extensive tour!

    Like

  2. This is so cute, I am so glad I found your blog!! I am also spending my spring break in Washington D.C. but wasn’t able to visit the Capital Building, but I have toured it a couple years ago. Have you toured the white house before?

    Like

Leave a Reply

